The modern history of this beautiful hilltop property dates to 1911, when Amory L. Haskell sold 17 acres to his brother-in-law, Samuel Riker, a descendant of Abraham Van Rycken, after whom Riker's Island was named. Riker built the mansion that one day would become the Navesink clubhouse. He also adorned the grounds with formal gardens and a marble swimming pool and built the long, winding, tree-lined entranceway from Riverside Drive. A glassed-in porch at the east end of the mansion afforded a view for Riker and his guests of the America's Cup races, which were held in the Atlantic Ocean off Sandy Hook. Riker owned 69 acres at his death in 1936, and subsequent owner Charles Lyon, a world-class sailor, expanded the estate to 115 acres, which he sold to the fledgling Navesink Country Club in 1963.
Its original founders envisioned it as a place for year-round family use, unique at the time. Families continue to enjoy Navesink Country Club today, a true club for all seasons.
1977 and 1992 Open Championship
1965 Four Ball Championship
1974 Amateur Championship